A Trip to Thirunallar

This whole month of September I have planned and booked for the following pilgrimages so that the usual evil effects of September which had been lasting from 2009 to 2015 would be a history. Here is my plan summary.

  1. WE 3,4        Panchanarasimha Kshetrams in Andhra Pradesh (Mattapalli, Vadapalli, Kethavaram, Mangalagiri and Vedadri) along with Kanakadurga Temple
  2. WE 10,11     Nagercoil Muppandal Isakki Amman and Thiruvananthapuram
  3. WE 17,18    Rameswaram and Thiruppullani
  4. WE 24, 25  Srisailam

The first weekend had a mild effect of September perhaps the last evil effect of September? The tickets were waitlisted on the train and one person who promised a EQ did not turn up in the last minute. Then I tried visiting CMBT for APSRTC bus but the buses were crowded too. So I planned to return back home but had a half-heart because when we start on a pilgrimage we should not abandon it. And when I was crossing the platforms I saw a bus to Thirunallar. So I thought I would take that bus and go to Thirunallar. You may be interested to read my earlier pilgrimage to this place here.

Saturday morning I reached Thirunallar. A lot of change in the town welcomed me. First the buses are parked quite far on saturdays and we need to walk a lot. The temple tank is pristine clear and sparkling with frequent mike announcements/reminders to public to keep it clean as it is a heavy investment from Government of Pondicherry and Karaikal District Administration along with the temple trust. The temple had beautiful queue complex modeled after Tirumala Tirupathi. After having a 15 minute walk through the queue complexes reached the sanctum sanctorum and worshipped Sri Shanidev. After completing the darshan of Lord Shiva and His consort in the temple, got off the temple. I got some prasadam also in the outer.

After a quick breakfast in the restaurant nearby started walk back to the bus stand. Now I got the Chennai bound bus going through ECR/Thiruvanmiyur. Though it is a little long route I chose it so that can have a good nap in the bus. I reached Thiruvanmiyur quite late in the evening and travelled to home to catch a night’s sleep.

Leave a Reply

