A visit to the neighborhood bank …

For the past couple of days I have been struggling to get a bank account opened online. Because I still do not have an active Social Security and I have only recently applied for it, the brands like Bank of America and a few other online facilities are reluctant to extend banking relationship with me. My employer wants me to furnish the information for setting up the payroll and pertinent stuff.

Hence today I set on on a neighborhood stroll of finance window shopping. I found out a bank called BB&T (FDIC approved) and inquired with them whether they can help out with an account.  They were glad to open one with my passport and with a pre-condition that I would need to furnish them the social once it comes in after two weeks. Before I started, I also got the following from my client to fulfill the same.

  1. An bonafide offer of employment certifying my residence in the vicinity.
  2. The reimbursement of travel expenses (paid in INR and reimbursed in $) which I can use to open the bank account.

With the blessings of my Lord, sowed the sweet seeds of banking relationship in the land of immigrants.

One thought on “A visit to the neighborhood bank …

  1. Pingback: A walk down up-to Festival Lane in festive spirits « Lavanya Deepak's Travel Journal

Leave a Reply

